Happy Mother’s Day (a couple months late)

Image

This was a project I created last year for my mom for mother’s day. I was in my senior year of college and broke as a joke. Although my dear sweet mother said, “Oh you don’t have to get me anything. All I need is a hug”, I still wanted to do something to show her how much she means to me. I explored Pinterest and multiple blogs searching for inspiration. I liked the ideas “50 reasons why you’re loved” for a fiftieth birthday, or “100 reasons I love you”, etc. I decided to put my own twist on it and come up with 365 things I love about my mom, so she could pull one out everyday for a year.

Using card stock I already had I went to town cutting 1/2″ – 1″ strips. I then proceeded to come up with reasons why I love my mom, compliments, thank you for ___, quotes, and memories. I even threw in one that said, “Are there any chores I can help you with around the house?”

Image

Now that I had my 365 strips I needed to come up with a way to contain everything. I can’t remember if I was already out or made a specific trip, but I wound up at my favorite spot- Target. I grabbed a cheap $5 vase and a $0.50 gift bag and headed home to finish my gift. Putting all the strips in a clear vase was fine because they were colorful, but I wanted to jazz it up a bit more. I covered the sides of the vase with scrapbook paper and added a photo of my mom and I that I also already had.

Image

My mom loved the gift and for a year has talked about how special it is and how it’s a treat she looks forward to every morning while enjoying her coffee.

Leave a Reply

